Beginners guide to Lifx HTTP API

I have been browsing all day to get started with the HTTP api, can some one give me some pointers.
I am totally new to Rest API’s world

Note: I am looking to access my lifx bulbs over internet.

Any help much, appreciated.

Thank you,
Akul

Samples for Python are in the documentation.
You should start with Google as you would with any question you have.

For example from the set state documentation you have cURL, PHP and Python examples.

Thank you for the reply.

I am trying to generate the APP Token from cloud.lifx.com, but the website just wont authenticate me. I can control the bulbs using the app. but unable to login to cloud.lifx.com.

How are the token we generate tied to our bulbs ?

You login to the LIFX Cloud using the credentials that you use to login to the LIFX application. The bulbs that have been claimed to that account inside the application will be tied to all tokens created using that account.

thank you Daniel. (I am able to login now. )
let me understand the process of gaining the control of my bulb.

I have one query regarding how do I register my bulbs with my token.

1. I have connected two bulbs in my local lan to my wifi router. I am connected to the same wifi router (In the same LAN as my bulbs)
  2. I am able to discover the two bulbs through the ios app.
  3. But I am able to claim only 1 out of those two bulbs through the app.
  4. After claiming 1 bulb I am trying to run the cUrl command to access the bulbs over the same network.
  5. I am not getting anything back.

1. I have generated the token before claiming the bulb.

Is there anything wrong , I am doing.

Regards,
Akul Kapoor

It all sounds good, but there are a few caveats you might be hitting.

1. Make sure you are signed into the same cloud account as the iOS/Android app when you generate the API token.