Feature request: Setting all tile states at once (SetTileState)

Hi,

I am pretty new to LIFX developing and so far I have been using the awesome lifxlan python library by Meghan Clark) to integrate my LIFX Tile set into my home automation system. Besides using slow effects on the tiles for entertainment purposes I also wanted the tiles to be able to show certain alert messages from my home automation system (i.e. when a doorbell is pressed, etc.)

So I created a scroller to be able to scroll a text over a tile setup. I started out with a 2x1 tile setup (x 16, y 8 pixels) and this worked like a charm. It scrolled perfectly with 100ms ‘shifts’. Then I wanted to extend to a 2x2 tile setup (16x16) as this allows for better text (and icon) visibility which is needed due to the white plexiglass ‘fuzzy’ effect.

This poses a problem as it needs to do 4x SetState64 per 100ms, which means 25ms per packet. This exceeds the maximum allowed packet rate as the maximum is 50ms per packet. This was visible because the last 2 tiles were ‘lagging’ behind causing a ‘tear’ in the text. I softened this a bit by using a higher ‘duration’ interval, but it is still not ‘smooth’. Dropping to a lower ‘shift’ ratio would cause the texts to be too slow so I need at least 100ms interval updates for the whole tile set.

Since the UDP protocol allows for larger packets I think it would really be beneficial to have SetTileState API calls that allow for larger than 1 tile updates (128, 256, etc.). This will also allow far more intricate effects to be made and extend the Tile usage possibilities. Yes, I’m pleading my own case :slight_smile: but still I think this would be very cool to be able to send all tile states every 50ms. Imagine moving start field effects, of dropping snowflakes, etc. etc.

Is there any thoughts on implementing this in the near future ? Or is there another channel to request features like this ?

Kind regards,
Shoenix/Martijn Schoemaker