Help with Node.js Code - "Error: Cannot find module 'lifx-api'"

Hello All,

I am new to all IOT and coding.
I am trying to us Node.js on a raspberrypi in order to control my lights.

1. I have Node.js running.
  2. I have the code I need to execute.
  3. I got the LIFX API Toke.

But when I execute the code I get the following errors:

Error: Cannot find module 'lifx-api’
at Function.Module._resolveFilename (module.js:440:15)
at Function.Module._load (module.js:388:25)
at Module.require (module.js:468:17)
at require (internal/module.js:20:19)
at Object. (/home/pi/LIFX-Dash-Button/index.js:7:15)
at Module._compile (module.js:541:32)
at Object.Module._extensions…js (module.js:550:10)
at Module.load (module.js:458:32)
at tryModuleLoad (module.js:417:12)
at Function.Module._load (module.js:409:3)

My assumption is that all these errors are related to the “Cannot find module ‘lifx-api’” Error I am getting.

How can I get this installed on my Raspberrypi? I am running Raspbian on it.

Thanks and best regards,

Maxi.

Maxi you will need to clarify a few things, where are you getting your API from ? If this is the LIFX release api it is years old and not applicable any more as LIFX no longer support them.
LIFX has documented the LAN API and made available the cloud HTTP API but anything else you have to source as 3rd party or develop yourself.

I have just solved the issue, I was executing “npm install” on the wrong directory and without Root Privileges (I am new to Linux and even newer for all this coding thing).

The problem I have now is that the Code is only controlling one light. I will need to figure this out.

Thanks a lot for the reply.

Regards,

Maxi.

AFAIK LIFX has never released a Node.js library for controlling LIFX bulbs.

However I’m happy to answer questions around code and talking to LIFX bulbs, you just have to provide details of the problem, and what you have tried already.