LIFX Developer Zone

How do I build a URL to control my lights

I’m just starting out with this so sorry if the question is basic, but how to I construct a URL I can put into a browser to send commands to LIFX? I’m thinking if I can work out the structure I can make a few pre-cooked URLs and build some simple utilities.

I’ve created a ‘Token’ and visited the page here for example: https://api.developer.lifx.com/docs/toggle-power
and there I can toggle my lights, and I’ve also set up commands to change colour etc. and it works ok. I’ve read some of the docs but I’m still confused about the structure of a command I can just put into a browser.

It says for instance: curl -X POST “https://api.lifx.com/v1/lights/all/toggle
-H “Authorization: Bearer *******************************************************”
(I’ve taken out the token) but what do I do with that to make it an actual URL?

Edit: I’ve even just set up Wireshark in case it can show me what’s happening but I can’t see anything that looks like a command line URL. I can see some commands sent my my lights locally so I guess the original command is from LIFX and not from the web page? Don’t know??

Hello!

So, the curl command is run in the terminal, rather than the browser. And wireshark is a diagnostic tool, it’s complicated even for me, you won’t need that.

So to run the command, let’s start with what your environment is. Are you on Windows, MacOSX, or Linux?

Oh I see, thanks. I’ve got the toggle command to work in the command console. (I copied the curl from the window and took out the carriage return, and made a space before the -H) I’ll have to go read up what a ‘curl’ is, thank you for getting it working.

I can now see my 5 lights listed in the returned result, but there is one extra one listed and shown as ‘offline’. What would that be?