If you are thinking of buying Lifx bulbs – READ THIS.

I’m going to give a very bad review for Lifx smart bulbs but let me start with the good. When the lights worked (which was not often) they are awesome. The colors, control and the ability to creatively light your home are super fun. Unfortunately, it was short lived fun followed by unbearable frustration getting everything to work – and stay working. You should know before I go farther that when it comes to computers and all things IT – I consider myself above average. I’m far from an expert, IT geek but I am the one family and friends usually call to help them with their home tech needs. I really thought I could get it all figured out but it was impossible. Ok, let’s get into it.

I purchased (4) - 11W Dimmable A19 LED Light Bulb5W Equivalent – Multicolor & (1) - LIFX Z Wi-Fi Lightstrip Experience Kit 9.8’ – Multicolor. I downloaded the App and was able to get them connected pretty easily. The first thing you need to know is the bulbs will ONLY connect to the internet on your 2G WiFi network. That means if you have other peripherals in your home that you control with your phone and they are connected to your faster 5G WiFi network you have to switch your phone back and forth between the different WiFi networks. To really take advantage of your LIFX bulbs it’s best to also connect your smart bulbs to Apple Home, Alexa or whatever home hardware you have. It took numerous times to get the LIFX App to pair with my Apple Home but eventually I got it to work. For a brief period, everything was great and working well – got about one full day of enjoyment before things went bad. The first thing you will notice is sometimes the bulbs appeared and the LIFX App and sometimes not. It was kind of random and I couldn’t keep thing stable. It could sometimes take me 5 or 10 minutes just to get the lights on.