LIFX Developer Zone

IFTTT and Scenes

All,

I am a NOOB here, but if you could set me on the right course I would be very grateful… There are many experts on here and I am hoping you can answer my question.

Situation:

a. I have two scenes saved in the app.
1, Random colors
2. White Lights.
b. The Random Colors should run from dusk to dawn.
c. I am using a sensor (motion trigger) to turn on the white lights.
1. White lights turn off after 10 minutes.
2. Random Colors scene runs again.

I thought I could use IFTTT to do this, but I am unable.

How is this accomplished?

Thank you in advance…

bob

what system are you using for your motion sensor?

Basically you want to create an IFTTT account, then hit your user icon and Create.
For the “This” select your motion sensor trigger and “motion detected” (or whatever it gives you)
For the “That” select LIFX and “set Scene”

You may be able to set up another “This” trigger for “no motion for 10 minutes” - it depends.

The other way would just be to set “random” based on a timer.

Jymbob,

Thank you for the quick response. I am sorry that my first post was not clear.

I currently use IFTTT to control the lights, but I am quite limited.

There is an option that lets lights fade to off, based on a period of time.

There is no option to just turn off after a set period of time.

If I fade out over a 10 minute period, the lights start fading during a period that I need light.

If I turn it off with a short fade time, the lights are not on long enough.

Also, there is no option to return to “Random Color” scene once the white lights go off.

I have seen some YouTube videos that show multiple options for IFTTT, but every one I have found only has one option.

Any ideas?

bob

1 Like

It’d be helpful to know what system your trigger is using. There might be a way to do it, but it very much depends on how much information the motion sensor passes to IFTTT.

Bob,