LIFX Developer Zone

My Bulbs wont connect to wifi, Tech support is not being helpful

I work in the mobile device industry and I am very familiar with ai technology such as google assistant and alexa. That’s why I was more than pleased when my parents bought me a set of smart bulbs for Christmas. However the process of syncing these lifx mini bulbs to my wifi has been an unbearable nightmare.

They worked fine at my parent’s house but they will not connect to my wifi and all tech support is willing to do is send me a link to the setup guide. (Before you ask, the answer is yes, I have reset my bulbs.)

At this point I feel it best to steer my customers interested in automating their homes away from this brand do to poor tech support. Please give me a reason not to.

You might want to give us a hint about the differences between your parents’ house where they work fine and your house where they don’t.

And some symptoms of what’s happening beyond “an unbearable nightmare”.

My first guess would be that you have the 2.4GHz band turned off on your Wi-Fi system and are trying to use devices that only support 2.4GHz on a 5GHz only Wi-Fi network. But, hey, that’s a guess since you’ve given no actual data to work from.

Thank you for your prompt response Mr. Galos. Your reply certainly gives insight into lifx’s position on customer retention.

Yes I am using the 2.4 GHz band. I have even attempted to connect my bulbs with my phone connected to the 2.4 GHz band.

I don’t know what type of router my parents use I only know that mine is an Arris TG1682G.

My bulbs are in the same room as my network extender so signal is not an issue.

I have reset my bulbs more than once so that is not the issue either.

I have gone through the setup guide at least 5 times so that is not the answer.

I am at the stage where I need tier 2 tech support.

Do you have anything to offer in that regard?

As an FYI, I’m not a LIFX employee. I’m just a customer.

What are you getting as an error?