LIFX Developer Zone

Newbie Question

I am new to python and to smart lights. I’m trying to connect an Lifx bulb through python code running on a laptop to change colors based on a set of external data. I’m having trouble with the connectivity. Can you help?
thanks

I am not a pro on python coding but I could help you with your communication with a LIFX device.

First, you have to choose how you want to communicate with it:

• HTTP API: you need to be connected to Internet (working with LIFX cloud)
  • LAN Protocol: you can use it locally

I let you choose.

Thanks

We are using LAN/ wifi

And what’s wrong with your connectivity?

I’m using python package lifxlan. The class within the module should be lifxLAN (according to GitHub)

My statement

Lifx=lifxlan(1) (creating an instance of the class)

Gives me an error module object is not callable

Importing the class from lifxlan

(from lifxlan import lifxLAN)

Gives me an error: No Module names lifxLAN

I think I might be missing a step. Or this there an ‘official’ python package I should be using?

I was a programmer many years ago and technology has changed a bit since then. I have the logic for changing the color I need to, but its connecting my code to the light bulb I’m having trouble with.

Karen

Mail](https://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=550986) for Windows 10

I think it is a good practice to start with Photons - Opensourcing a new framework for interacting with LIFX lights

Good luck

Photons is indeed another option :slight_smile:

As for lifxlan, are you sure you’re running the same python you installed lifxlan into?

actually, I think I know what your problem is.

LifxLAN is capitalized.

So try something like

from lifxlan import LifxLAN
lifx = LifxLAN(num_lights)

Hi Stephen

I’ve tried that

import requests

import time

from lifxlan import lifxLAN

def connect_light_source():

num_lights=1

print(“before connect”)

lan=lifxLAN(num_lights)

kp_lifx=lan.get_lights()

print(“after connect”)