Total noob here, looking for a way to gradually dim a bulb or LED strip over a 1-hour period (color doesn't matter)

Um, yeah what the title says. I haven’t done programming since high school, so I need to ask a lot of dumb questions. Browsing around this site though, I read about the “breathe” and “cycle” options, maybe there is something in those I could tweak? Has anyone else out there tried to get the bulbs to do this with success?

To start RTFM.

You can power off a bulb over x period where it dims down via the HTTP api or the app on your phone.
You can set a schedule on the app or via IFTT

E.g. in set state send through the HTTP command to changed your brightness level from say 100 to 30 % and do that over 1 hour do what you want.

This is your opportunity to learn. Also lookup github there are a lot of examples in multiple languages on how you can control your lights etc. great for learning.

There’s no way do do this without coding (unless there is an app that already does it). You can turn the lights off over half an hour by holding the tap on the light icon in the LIFX apps main screen and then selecting your power off time period.

Otherwise you’ll need to get yourself a webserver (the same thing you need to get in order to host a website) and do some coding with the HTTP API (link is at the top of this page)

Alright, I warned that I’d be asking a lot of dumb questions…here we go! I tried doing the hold-tap thing that abrythenabry said, that works great! I’d still like to get more functionality (e.g. increase max time of power-down, and control the curve of the power-down) with coding.

Can I just use my own computer as a webserver? Barring that, is there a standard server that developers use just for testing (since I don’t really want anyone else but me to access whatever it is I’m going to code)?