Urgent help request

Hi all,
I’m very new to LIFX and moreover a bit rusty with my programming. I recently bought a LIFX device and trying to understand the different protocols to control the device. I see the bulb I’ve White 800 is Allseen certified, so this would enable me to control the device over Alljoyn so practically I can use it. But I don’t understand why we have LAN Protocol? is it a completely different protocol which has nothing to do with Alljoyn? what are the motivations to have two different protocol I don’t understand. Can you someone please help, throw some light the differences or guide me to the documentation?

Many thanks
bruce

Not everything is connected to the internet…
We need 2 APIs because we need to

1. Be able to control bulbs remotely
  2. Be able to control bulbs even when an internet connection is unavailble.

For example a couple of weeks ago there was a damage in the phone cables and I was offline for hours. If not for the LAN API, I wouldn’t be able to control my lights. However, even without a connection I was able to control them because my phone was connected to the same router, therefore the same network (i.e. LAN)

The LIFX (LAN) protocol is what is used to communicate with the LIFX lights in the LIFX app and a range of other apps. AllJoyn is an open protocol created by a range of different companies in the industry. We support both protocols on the White 800/Color 1000 bulbs to enable our devices to integrate with a wider range of other IoT devices.

Thanks both for clarifying things. I’m getting a hang of these sleek devices.

Don’t be fooled by the android Lifx App which is unable to control lights when internet access is lost (I tried last week, this bug is already here). But yes, you can control your lights in a private LAN, without internet access, provided you have the right tool (Lifx App again should do).